DE Marijuana Laws
Delaware Medical Marijuana Law
Delaware’s first compassion center, or dispensary, opened in June 2015. Qualifying patients may purchase medical marijuana from state-licensed dispensaries.
Delaware citizens diagnosed by a doctor with one or more qualifying medical conditions can qualify for medical marijuana use in Delaware.
Learn more: Division of Public Health
Delaware Marijuana Law
On June 18, 2015, Governor Jack Markell signed HB 39, a law in Delaware that removes the threat of arrest and jail time for possessing a small amount of marijuana. The law will take effect December 18, 2015.
Penalties under HB 39:
21 years of age and older: Possession or private use of one ounce or less of marijuana will no longer be a crime and the penalty will be a $100 civil violation. Public marijuana use will subject the consumer to an unclassified misdemeanor, punishable by a $200 criminal fine, imprisonment of up to five days, or both.
Under 21 years of age: Simple possession remains a criminal offense for anyone under 18. For those between the ages of 18 and 21, a first offense will result in a civil penalty, while any subsequent offense would be a misdemeanor.
Learn more: HB 39